Political Structure, 18.07.2022

Official name: Republic of Slovenia

Government type: Parliamentary democracy

Capital: Ljubljana

Official language: Slovenian

Currency: Euro (as of 1 January 2007)

President: Borut Pahor

Prime Minister: Robert Golob

President of National Assembly: Urška Klakočar Zupančič

President of National Council: Alojz Kovšca

In Slovenia, President is elected by the popular vote for five years and s/he can be re-elected. The last Presidential elections were held on 22 October 2017 and Borut Pahor was re-elected as the President. The next Presidential elections will be held in autumn 2022.

There is a bicameral system where National Assembly consists of 90 deputies and National Council has 40 members. National Assembly has the power to appoint Prime Minister and to form the executive power.

Parliamentary elections are held in every four years. The last elections were held on 24 April 2022. The percentages of the political parties in the elections and the seats they won in the assembly are as follows:

-Freedom Movement (Svoboda): % 34.45 – 41 deputies

-Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS): % 23.48 - 27 deputies

-New Slovenia-Christian Democrats (NSi) % 6.86 - 8 deputies

-Social Democrats (SD): % 6.69 - 7 deputies

-The Left (Levica): % 4,46 -5 deputies

-Hungarian and Italian minorities elect their deputies within their constituencies: 2 deputies

Current coalition government is headed by Prime Minister Robert Golob, the leader of Svoboda. The government has been approved by the National Assembly on 1 June 2022.

The second house of the Parliament, namely National Council represents various interest groups such as workers, employers, farmers, etc. and consists of 40 members. National Council has the power to return the resolutions back to the National Assembly for re-evaluation. National Council elections are organised in every five years and the last election was held on 22-23 November 2017.

In Slovenian local administration system, there are no governors appointed by the central Government. All local services were provided by the mayors. There are 212 municipalities in Slovenia. 11 of them are city municipalities. The last local elections were held in 18 November and 2 December 2018. Local elections are organised every four years.

There are 8 Slovenian members in the European Parliament.


Aylin Taşhan Ambassador
Monday - Friday

08:30 - 16:00

Monday-Friday 08:30-16:00
1/1/2024 1/3/2024 New Year's Day
2/8/2024 2/9/2024 Slovenian Cultural Day
4/1/2024 4/2/2024 Easter Monday
4/10/2024 4/11/2024 Religious Day
5/1/2024 5/3/2024 Labour Day
6/16/2024 6/17/2024 Religious Day
6/25/2024 6/26/2024 Statehood Day of Slovenia
8/15/2024 8/16/2024 Feast of the Assumption
10/29/2024 10/30/2024 Turkish Republic Day
10/31/2024 11/1/2024 Reformation Day
11/1/2024 11/2/2024 Day of Remembrance for the Dead
12/25/2024 12/26/2024 Christmas Day
12/26/2024 12/27/2024 Independence and Unity Day